Do I get a re-do?

I read a blog last week which was a letter to the author’s younger self.

When a man walks into a room, he brings his whole life with him. He has a million reasons for being anywhere, just ask him. If you listen, he’ll tell you how he got there. How he forgot where he was going, and that he woke up. If you listen, he’ll tell you about the time he thought he was an angel or dreamt of being perfect. And then he’ll smile with wisdom, content that he realized the world isn’t perfect. We’re flawed, because we want so much more. We’re ruined, because we get these things, and wish for what we had. -Don Draper

I started thinking, if I could do it again, what would I change? Would I go be a Air Force  Pilot and fly fighter jets? That seems like the coolest job in the world. I am enthralled by these jets and their abilities. The newest fighter jet attained by the USAF boasts super-cruise capability of Mach 1.7, or 1.7 times the speed of sound ( 768mph)… which is about 1,300Mph. WITH the assistance of afterburners, the jet can travel even faster… pushing speeds of nearly 1900 MPH. Circle the globe in a mere 4 hours. Stuff like that turns me on.

If I failed as a pilot in the United States Air Force, then I’d go back to school and learn how to play basketball BEFORE I graduated. I mean i’m nice with it now, but it’s too late. Why didn’t anyone tell me that if I practiced hard and played well I could’ve gone to college for free and had a shot at the pros? There are guys younger than me, that make waaaaaaaaay more money than I do. Doing what they love… doing what I pay $34.99 per month to go do at the gym. I could’ve followed in the footsteps of my father and been a pro-athlete.

If I could do it again, I’d go into the police academy and make my way to some sort of special operations unit or swat. I would absolutely love to catch some asshole trying to rape a teenaged girl and kick the shit out of him [like the denzel clip below]. I’d love to drive my police car as fast as I drive now, but legally. I’d love to protect the people who cannot protect themselves, and serve the community. While I know that it’s not all like the movies, I was very very close to joining the police academy coming out of high-school. I just was never satisfied with the salary for the type of work you do. I absolutely love the show Southland, it’s one of the most entertaining police shows on television. I wouldn’t mind being a street cop in Beverly Hills.

To all my dreams, I haven’t given up on you… but like Lauryn Hill said I guess I’ll see ya’ next lifetime 🙂

2 thoughts on “Do I get a re-do?”

  1. hi there i was wondering if you could please remove post number 453 from the “let the cool chase you scorpio man” site. do you have an email address so i can discuss this with you further.

  2. “I just was never satisfied with the salary for the type of work you do” Well then it doesn’t sound like this truly was your dream. For law enforcement, teachers, social workers, etc their monetary gain is slim….but the difference they make is immense. You came to the fork in the road that we all come to; $$$ or idealistic dreams?? And looks like you chose your path…I hope you are happy with it and find peace in whatever you decide to do

Leave a Reply

